Shooting stars was one of the founders of the Nigerian Premier League (now Nigeria Professional football league) in 1972.We were called WNDC Ibadan (Western Nigeria Development Corporation ) back then.

In 1973, the corporation was split into three. Industrial investment and credit corporation was one of them. Hence, WNDC were later called IICC (Industrial Investment and Credit Corporation) Shooting Stars of Ibadan.

Industrial investment and credit corporation shooting stars international was too long to remember and pronounce, so the name was shortened to IICC Shooting stars International and then to IICC shooting stars and then simply IICC and/or shooting stars. Now we just say 3SC – evolution of a name.

The nickname “Shooting Stars” was added with the suggestion of team foundation members the late Jide Johnson and Niyi Omowon the “Aare Odan Liberty” (Generalissimo of Liberty Stadium) who believed that the players were “stars” in their own right.

Shooting Stars is one of the most followed football clubs in Nigeria and we play home home matches at the Lekan Salami Stadium in Adamasingba. The stadium got its name after one of the prominent supporters of  shooting stars who is now deceased.

Before, “Sooting” as it is  fond called by its supporters used to play at the famous Liberty Stadium.Shooting stars is the first club to win Nigerian FA cup in 1971, players like Aderoju Omowon, Niyi Akande, Jossy Lad, Amusa Adisa were prominent members of the squad. Shooting Stars is one of the most decorated clubsides in Nigeria alongside Enugu Rangers and the defunct Stationery Stores of Lagos.


We have played and won many matches against top club sides in Africa. Shooting stars won the first edition of CAF Cup, defeating the Nakivubo Villa of Uganda 3–0 in the finals at the Lekan Salami stadium after the first leg ended goalless.

We won the African Cup Winners’ Cup in 1976,becoming the first Nigerian clubside to win an international trophy.


  • Nigerian Premier League
    • Champions (5): 1976, 1980, 1983, 1995, 1998
  • Nigerian FA Cup
    • Winners: 1971 (as WNDC), 1977, 1979, 1995
  • African Cup of Champions Clubs
    • Runners-up: 1984, 1996
  • CAF Cup
    • Winners: 1992
  • African Cup Winners’ Cup
    • Winners: 1976
  • West African Club Championship
    • Winners: 1998


Many well-known international stars have played for Shooting Stars in the past, including former African footballer of the year Rashidi Yekini, “the mathematical” Segun Odegbami and so on.Notable players Rashidi Yekini, Segun Odegbami, Felix Owolabi, Niyi Akande, Taiwo Ogunjobi, Duke Udi, Olumide Harris, Golden Ajeboh, Ajibade Babalade, Ademola Johnson, and Jude Axelsson.

For partnership and sponsorship inquiries, please get in touch